Our network

First days of school in metro Atlanta | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

First days of school in metro Atlanta
First days of school in metro Atlanta

CARROLLTON, Ga. -- It's only mid-July, but many metro Atlanta students are preparing to head back to school.

Monday, July 15 is the first day of the 2013-14 school year for children at three Atlanta schools -- Boyd, Centennial Place and Hutchinson elementary schools -- and the Elite Scholars Academy in Clayton County.

RELATED | Year-round school begins Monday

In Carroll County and the city of Carrollton, the first day of school is Thursday, Aug. 8.

Other school start dates throughout north Georgia include:

Thursday, Aug. 1
Decatur City
Paulding County

Friday, Aug. 2
Newton County

Monday, Aug. 5
Cherokee County
Floyd County
Henry County

Tuesday, Aug. 6
Coweta County

Wednesday, Aug. 7
Atlanta Public Schools
Barrow County
Bartow County
Buford City
Clarke County
Cobb County
Douglas County
Gwinnett County

Thursday, Aug. 8
Forsyth County
Marietta City

Monday, Aug. 12
Clayton County
DeKalb County
Fayette County
Fulton County
Gainesville City
Hall County
Griffin-Spalding County


Carrollton Businesses